brief history andhra sub area

History of Secunderabad Mil Cantt

Secunderabad Mil Cantt was est under a treaty of Def alliance against Tipu Sultan and other foreign forces between the East India Coy and the Nizam of Hyderabad in 1780. The East India Coy provided the Nizam with 6000 tps for protection and Nizam gave monetary compensation of 25 lacs per annum and land. The area occupied by the Force was named Secunderabad after the late Nawab Sikandar Jah (Nizam II).

The HQ of the British Mil Cantt was at Bolarum. The maj mil settlements were at Bolarum, Thirumalgiri and Bowenpally. The Nizam continued to rule from Hyderabad and his forces were located at Golconda and Menhdhipatnam.

Secunderabad Mil Cantt is spread over approx 259 sq km of land and comprises Secunderabad Cantt area incl Mil Stn areas of Bolarum, Tirumalgiri Bowenpally and Golconda Mil Stn encompasses Golconda, Mendhipatnam & Langar Houz.

Raising and Designation of HQ Telangana and Andhra Sub Area

4. The Sub Area was raised consequent to the surrender of the Hyderabad State Forces to the Union of India in Sep 1948. Its designation has undergone the fwg changes:-

23 Nov 1949 - Deccan (I) Sub Area.
30 Nov 1953 - Secunderabad Stn.
01 Jul 1963 - Andhra (I) Sub Area.
30 Nov 1973 - Andhra Sub Area.
10 Feb 2015 - Telangana and Andhra Sub Area.

AOR: An Overview

Andhra Pradesh was the largest Southern State with Hyderabad as its capital. The State consisted of 23 districts and had a population of approx 8.46 crores. It had 61.1% literacy rate and the maj languages spoken are Telugu, Urdu, Hindi and English. The state has been bifurcated as Telangana State and Andhra Pradesh on 02 Jun 2014 with Hyderabad as common capital for a pd of 10 yrs. Telangana State has 10 districts and Andhra Pradesh has the bal 13 districts of Coastal Region and Rayalaseema.

Trn of the both States in gen is as obtainable in the Deccan Plateau. The Northern districts are hilly and forested. The coastal belt of Andhra Pradesh extends from Srikakulam to Nellore and is approx 1086 km long. Three main rivers of AOR flow from West to East and are R Godavari, R Krishna and R Pennar. The States receive rainfall from SW monsoons in Jun - Sep and from NE monsoons in Nov - Dec. The Telangana and Rayalaseema districts receive lesser rain vis-à-vis Coastal Region of Andhra Pradesh.


Though agriculture remains the main occupation of these States, there has been a phenomenal growth in industry, services and other business sects. The Cyberabad city and the newly formed Telangana are taking giant strides in the fds of IT, pharmaceuticals, biotech and tourism. The AOR has six airports (Hyderabad, Puttaparthi, Tirupati, Rajhmundry, Vijayawada & Visakhapatnam).

Regions. The AOR is divided into three regions namely Telangana, Rayalseema and Circar (coastal areas).

Telangana State. This state borders Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra and Karnataka and comprises of 10 districts. Trn in this region is gen arid, hilly and forested with rich natural resources.

Andhra Pradesh.

Rayalaseema. This region has four districts of Kurnool, Anantpur, Cuddapah & Chittoor, is a rolling plateau. It shares bdys with Tamil Nadu & Karnataka. The trn gen has hard rocky soil.